Diamond Jubilee!

This is my Great Aunt Margaret. Sr Margaret Mary O.P. in fact. She is 82.

On Friday 27th June 2014, she celebrated 60 years as a Domincan Nun in the St Catherine of Siena Monastery.

This is no mean feat!

For at least the first forty years of being a nun, she was not allowed to speak. She initially joined a silent order. She was only allowed visits on very special occasions (and they were only for about 20 minutes at a time) and she would have to sit behind a grille when with her visitor.

Over the years, the rules relaxed and now she can even leave the Convent for a week to go on holiday with family. And when we come to visit her, we actually get to spend a few hours with her and they always put on a fabulous lunch or afternoon tea for us.

Even though Sr Margaret spent a lot of time not communicating with the outside world, she has not lost her wicked sense of humour! This is why I chose this pic. I just love the funny face she is pulling.

When members of the family start to get to this age, you never know when the last time you see them will be. I'm so glad I went to this and if this is the last time I ever see her, I will have some wonderful last memories of her - it's almost a shame that I can't blip more pics of her and the other nuns!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.