Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Small Copper

A warmer day brought the butterflies back out.

First, at the Yorkshire Clinic in Cottingley, a healthy colony of Ringlets and nettles dripping with Peacock and Small Tortoiseshell caterpillars.  

Later, on campus, another emergence of Ringlets which I think makes it a new colony, a few Meadow Browns, a single Small Copper, a Small White and a couple of Cinnabar moths.

The journey in between brought this image though.  Right in the centre of Bradford I was just leaving City Park when a solitary white butterfly flew past. I very rarely see any butterflies here, but something made me make a small diversion to the war memorial garden, where this Small Copper, my first of the year, greeted me.  It then went on to perch in front of the Pals Memorial , a poetic reminder of brief lives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.