philmorris

By philmorris

A Birmingham Roofline

From Newton Street looking north to the terminus of Corporation Street

About the Day
Work took me to Birmingham today. I parked in the NCP at Newton Street where a 2 hour stay weighs in at £7.30. Before driving home I wandered the shitty centre looking for any street activity to photograph. I found some activity but not the sort I would get in close with a camera. This bloke was pushing a young woman around and they were both screaming and shouting. I first came across them walking under The Priory Queensway via Dale End, so the underpass only served to amplify their screeches. I was the only other person in that dark underpass, and as I got back into sunlight I could see plenty of people straining to look back their way. Stumbling on such incidents is rare for me but when it happens it invariably pricks my conscience that I have the good sense to not get involved.

The evening was my third rowing lesson on the Avon at Stratford. Jonathan, the coach and cox, upped the pace and for one or two moments, our crew of four found ourselves nimbly shifting through the water. I've got to remember how that happened.

After the lesson I took a wander through Welford on Avon. Parking outside The Shakespeare adjacent to the May Pole (that's a pole not a pub) I walked down past the church into Boat Lane and on to the river's edge. Boat Lane is a short lane of chocolate box country cottages, probably best known for the view of ten-penny cottage and the church tower.

About the Blip
The shot was taken from the 7th floor of the NCP. I hadn't noticed before but the upper reach of the tower of the Central Methodist Hall has what seems to be a tree growing out of it.

In Other News
I got home from Welford around 10:00pm. By then Dan was home having returned sun tanned and worn out from Glastonbury. He was that knackered he couldn't even stay up to watch the complete second half of Germany v Algeria. His father, 30 years his senior, watched extra time and the only goals down the Vs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.