Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Susan among the irises

This is my seventh summer in Portland and the first time I've ever been to the Japanese Garden while the irises are in full bloom. Susan, another long-time fried of Sue's, invited me to join her.

Susan was working full-time as a lawyer in 1985 when she was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis. She has done an inspiring job of learning about it and coping with it. She teaches yoga, meditates regularly, eats well and takes supplements, exercises, sets healthy boundaries for herself. Today she drove us up to the garden in her van and was able to park in the spot reserved for people with disabilities. As she was unloading her scooter, I said, "It's really cool that we get this terrific parking place." She smiled gently and said, "I'd rather be able to walk."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.