Our adventures...

By MrsScarf

Mud, Sweat and, thankfully no, Tears

It was an early start with M and I arriving at the Motukarakara racetrack at 8:30 sharp for registration. We then went in search of breakfast with Mark lapping up the coffee whilst I tried to think about anything but the impending race that lay ahead.

Before I knew it it was 11am and myself and three friends, all donning cat ears and tails, set off across the start line with our team number and name, Crazy Cats, pinned to our chests. What we had embarked on was a 5k run/climb/scrabble/slide/crawl through deep, thick and sloppy mud, which had a suspiciously strong horse manure aroma. All in all though, it was really good fun and I surprised myself at my level of fitness. The fact that it was 15oC outside helped as well!

I would even go so far as to say i'lld do it again, although being hosed down by horse hands, getting changed in a stable, and still smelling of poo in the gym despite the clothes haven been washed three times, does make me think twice(!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.