RobinBaneville

By RobinBanneville

The Butterfly and The Bumble Bee

This, of course, is the butterfly.
I saw it perched very vulnerably on the forecourt of Doyle Road Motors ... Anybody not looking downward could have accidentally stood on the poor thing ... So I thought I'd do my good deed for the day and rescue it from it's potential doom ...
Having first taken a couple of quick snaps with my "emergency" camera, I bent down and let it crawl onto my finger ... From my finger I placed it onto the seat of a motor-cycle which was up for sale on the garage forecourt ... From the bike seat the butterfly proceeded to flutter around a bit, then disappear into the engine housing ...
Maybe I would've been better off leaving it where it was on the ground ... :o|
---
If I had the choice of being hit in the face and had either a butterfly or a bumble bee crawl my cheek, then fall onto my lap and start squeezing between my thighs, I'd choose the butterfly ...
Unfortunately, it was the bumble bee that did these thing ... and even more unfortunately, it did these things having flown through the side window of my van as I was doing 35 MPH along the road ...
Needless to say I swerved a bit (quite a bit actually) ... Luckily I brought the van to a safe standstill and jumped out ...
The bee was nowhere to be seen (which is actually worse than knowing where it was) ... I took off and shook open my jacket, checked my trousers and the seat of the van, but could find no bee ... It's very possible that the bee might have flown back out the window, but I was taking no chances ...
Meanwhile, because I was blocking the road somewhat, an impatient car drove around me giving one loud angry hoot as it did so ... In my aggravated state I indicated to the car that next time it would be far better to hoot twice instead one long blast ... (it wasn't my fault the driver didn't understand why I'd put two fingers up at them) ... :o|
---
All told, however, today was a far better day than yesterday ... (which didn't take much) ... :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.