Cumbria Here I Come

By marpaul

I had a great time at Crummock Water with my friend and her two retrievers today. We had lots to catch up on and she hadn't met Misty before. We didn't walk very far really but just mooched about and sat down for a while and had lunch.

Misty had her first swim, woo hoo! But it was by accident and she did lots of splashing and didn't like it at all, it didn't put her off going back in though but just for paddling. She did go in quite deep, the water was up to her back at times. My friend's dogs are not water babes which I was surprised about considering they are retrievers. We did manage to get the older one Ellie in for just a short while.

We had to walk through a little field to get back to the car to make it a circular walk and I reassured her that there were no cows in the field and that the cow pats were old ones, whoops, boy did I get it wrong. The cows were at the far side of the field which was fine, but the two retrievers found fresh cow pats and you can guess the rest!! Misty was very good and didn't roll at all, phew!! I'm so glad I didn't have to travel in the same car as them as they were in a right old mess and as for the smell... :):) I've since had a text saying that they've been cleaned up at the camp site and are smelling normal again after being shampood!

I realised when we were out that I've now had Misty for exactly six months today, how time flies. I've so enjoyed watching her develop and discover new things like toys, playing, other dogs, paddling and so on. I was told that she was too timid to work sheep which is probably right, but she's not timid in the home environment which is obviously more suited to her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.