Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Sunrise over Springhill Covert

Oh dear, big trouble, snoring and keeping the other bed occupant awake half of the night. It resulted in an early rise and the opportunity to see the sun rise. This was taken at 5:10 am just as the sun peeked over this covert.

I've always liked this track, which runs away from the main road towards the trees. It suffers from being a very flat area of land so it is difficult to achieve good lead in lines for the composition. The mist has helped to separate the foreground and back ground and a 0.9 ND hard grad has managed to control the bright sun and sky.

Taking this shot reminded me when I last tried to take a shot from here, I was approached by a man asking 'what the h**l did I think I was doing?' Considering there was a camera on a tripod pointing in the same direction as this shot, I bit my tongue, though I'm not one to back down in a situation like this. I was standing on the public highway, acting lawfully. I said I loved the view and wanted to take a photograph. What I did note was that he was in a black suit with a black tie. He was obviously quite agitated so I said I'd finished and walked off. There was no one around this morning, yet another reason why I like taking photographs first thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.