OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Redshank

I went down to the south coast of mainland Orkney to photograph cliffs for the RSPB. I walked from the first barrier east along the road past Graemeshall and a couple of miles more to Upper Cornquoy and onto the cliffs. I was to replicate old photos of a particular section of cliff for which the RSPB have old photos to provide a contrast- probably of cliffs much busier in earlier years with nesting seabirds. But I was pleased to see quite a few chicks of guillemots, shags and great black-backed gulls. The sea was very calm and I saw, far out, some dolphins leaping in the sunlight. Too far for photos, almost too far for the binoculars but I think they were common dolphin, about ten of them. This redshank probably had chicks nearby as I walked along the road. More shots here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.