Me, My Camera & I

By notgraham

Building a #Frankenmirror

Its amazing what you can get on eBay sometimes.

Bought a 2nd hand car mirror on Sunday and it arrived today. All in tact including some spider's nests too!
Tonight I spend a fair whack of time with a plastic tool trying to break apart the mirror I'd gotten for it's precious parts. Boy do they make their parts so that they never come apart.

So, I also managed to take a look at the mirror mechanism to see if I needed to fix that at the same time. It looks like I am saved this time, but I do appear to have some wierd electrical fault when I try to move the mirror - the left hand mirror also moves. Not sure why, but its occurring.

I await only one more thing before I can start to build my Frankenmirror - epoxy. The original body coloured part is pretty much intact. There is one clip snapped off, but I'm hoping the rest will keep the thing together. The epoxy is to fix the huge crack at the narrowest point. Once that's mended it'll be onwards to put the whole lot back together and make things look like new.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.