HannahLunah

By HannahLunah

Venice on 5 euro a night

One can spend a lot of money in Venice. In the background we see the beautiful Hilton on Giudecca, where people wine and dine for exorbitant prices (apparently --- not that we've been anywhere near there). Alternatively, one can have a lovely evening for next to nothing, and be the happier for it. Tonight A. took off for a last minute ticket to Stravinsky's Rake's Progress at teatro La Fenice. I thought I would skip that one. My favourite enoteca (wine shop/bar) sells a lovely fresh Pino Grigio for 1 Euro a glass and 4 Euro a litre and a half, filled into plastic bottles. So I made a sandwich with some culatello (the best cured ham that Italy produces, on sale at the local supermarket!), took some of that Pino Grigio and took off to sit on the Fondamente for my aperitivo. Here's a photo of my little telescopic cup from which I'm sipping the wine (its disadvantage being that one needs to refill it rather frequently), and the bottle holding the elixir. Not visible is me and myself, pleased as Punch.

After my aperitivo I went to a free open air theatre piece. It was a lovely evening. Now back at the convent and off to beddybites.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.