Southerly Front

Since quite early this morning I have been observing a large bank of clouds in the east. It has very gradually moved up the coast before heading across Cook Strait to the North Island. The cloud bank is a “southerly front”. Often a southerly front will move up from further down the South Island only to slide out to sea over Cape Campbell to the southeast of Blenheim. We miss out on the southerly change and bad weather. And the sun continues to shine overhead.
I was so fascinated with today’s southerly front, with its magnificent cloud formation, that instead of diligently going about my supermarket shopping in town, I side-tracked and headed in the car to Rarangi Beach about 25 minutes’ drive away. The front was then sliding almost out of sight to the north but the remnants still made quite a showing. At the northern end of Rarangi Beach, where the hills slide down to meet the sea, the waves were putting on quite display crashing onto the rocks and then the steep shingle beach. It was quite a sight and made my day….. And my blip….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.