MANNERS MAKYTH MAN!

It was my last day at school today, probably until September. I was asked to sort the big books and repair them - and whilst doing so answered lots of questions from children who wanted to know what I was doing! I love it when they ask questions and they seemed satisfied with my answers. One little boy asked me if I repaired all the books in the whole world so I told him I didn't have enough time to do that!

After school I walked to the bus stop but having missed one bus, I decided to walk a bit further, and saw this man waiting - I have blipped him twice before in February and June last year, so I asked if he remembered me taking his photograph and he said he did. We chatted whilst waiting and I asked if I could "blip" him again. His reply was "If you really want to" - and he then asked if I was putting his picture in the "house of horrors" - I told him he was too good-looking for that!

Amazing how much people chat at bus stops - and for some people of course, if they live on their own, perhaps that is the only chatting they do all day - but it was lovely standing in the sunshine and I enjoyed his company. The bus came and he was such a gentleman - although I was happy for him to get on first, as he does have a walking frame, and he was there before me - he insisted I got on before him - obviously well brought up - and I guess he is well in his 80s.

I had lunch with my friend, Linda, who insisted on buying me a piece of cake to have with my coffee - so I couldn't refuse, could I? It would have been rude, especially as I may not see her for a while!

A very pleasant day so far - just hope when the man comes to give us a quote to erect a fence between us and our neighbours to replace the one brought down in the February storms, it doesn't make our eyes water!

“Manners are a sensitive awareness
of the feelings of others.
If you have that awareness,
you have good manners,
no matter what fork you use.”
Emily Post

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.