Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Family Tribute

Today was the funeral of our dear friend who died on 11.01.10. Here is the large banner which was hanging at the front of the church.

It was a privilege for the four of us, as a family, to take part in the service. We led the worship, and supported his family as they each shared memories and paid tribute to their father. He had worked for many years as an eye surgeon in Congo, his four children were born there. They chose the African song Siyahamb' ekukhanyen' kwenkhos' (We are marching in the light of God), accompanied by various types of drums. All generations of the family came to the front to join in.

Uplifting music, and inspiring words of remembrance and hope. A phrase which remains with me is "He had a concern for people as people".

One of the readings was from Psalm 62: 5-8:

Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him.
He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.
My salvation and my honour depend on God, he is my mighty rock, my refuge.
Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge
.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.