Random musings.

By rannochgirl

Sir Jimmy Shand

This incredibly lifelike bronze statue stands I. The centre of Auchtermuchty, Fife. It celebrates the life of the world renowned accordionist and band leader Sir Jimmy Shand who was born and lived all his life in the town. He died in 2000 at the ripe old age of 92. Of all the famous Scottish dance band leaders of his time, he stood head and shoulders above the rest because he kept such strict time with a lovely pulse, and dancers found it a joy to dance to his accompaniment. He was the stalwart of the TV New Year programmes for many years and he was a big favourite of my mum. He even inspired a song by Richard Thompson :

" When the party hit full swing, I saw you come reeling in
You had that six pack in a stranglehold
Now you stagger, now you sway, why don't you fall the other way?
'Cause I've got something here worth more than gold

I said, Don't sit on my Jimmy Shands, don't sit on my Jimmy Shands
They don't mend with sticky tape and glue
Don't sit on my Jimmy Shands, don't sit on my Jimmy Shands
And that's my very best advice to you . "

I will be up in Ullapool and Sutherland for a couple of days and WiFi may not be available. Please forgive me for my lack of comments if that happens and I'll catch up when I get home on Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.