CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

Using my brain - coral

I was going to ask for guesses as to what this is, but decided against it.

The photo is of a small piece of brain coral which we have (which was already dead when we picked it up on a beach about 25 or 30 years ago, so please don't shout at me).

This particular piece of coral is about the size of a grapefruit, so as far as brain corals go in the open sea, it is very small. Corals are made up of millions of tiny animals and can grow to incredible sizes.

When diving you're taught never to touch coral with your hands, nor to kick it with your fins (as obviously you can't feel the end of your fins), and certainly never ever stand on it or allow any boat that you're on to drop an anchor onto it. This isn't for your benefit - although it can be quite sharp and give a nasty cut that can take ages to heal - but rather for the benefit of your offspring and your offsprings' offsprings' offsprings. Coral is easily damaged, and handling or kicking it can kill it, and an anchor will damage it irrevocably.

I just thought I'd share this little bit of a little bit of coral with you. It's not done in mono by the way - it has been bleached white when on the beach.

You can tell I've had another day of finding nothing blipworthy. I'm now resorting to our bits and pieces!




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.