Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Another Small Job

Not really, and I managed to produce some sparks!

The light over the table in our kitchen, where we eat most of our meals, started getting temperamental a few days ago, and finally stopped working. It's a 12 volt halogen light with a dimmer switch -- I have a lot of experience installing dimmer switches!

Since the light had failed gradually, I didn't think the bulb was the problem, and a visual check confirmed this. That left two possibilities -- the dimmer switch or the 12V transformer in the ceiling fixture. After running some diagnostic checks I placed the blame squarely on the dimmer, so I replaced it with a regular switch as a temporary solution.

It occurred to me that this might be a good time to replace the light with a more efficient LED fixture, unless there's an LED replacement bulb that fits. More research is needed. I'd rather not have to replace the light -- we're quite fond of it, a quick Google didn't turn up any we liked better, and none had a simple push-pull height adjustment like ours.

Full disclosure -- I didn't quite use all the tools in the photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.