hello : )

By 1DayataTime

Canada Geese or Canadian Geese?

A quick search on the Internet makes in clear that the correct name is "Canada Geese." Although up until just recently when I started photographing them and wanting to learn more about them (via the Internet, of course), I always referred to them as Canadian Geese.

A few of my childhood memories of Canada Geese (or rather Canadian Geese, as we incorrectly would say : ) ...

-I remember loving to see how they would fly in a V formation in the sky. And sadly I can't remember seeing this as an adult : (
-In elementary school we put on a play (I can't remember the age) and at one point we stood in a V as Canada Geese fly.
-And I still remember how a Canada Goose bit my brother in his bum when he was about 4-5 years old - ouch! Fortunately I think it only bit his pants and didn't actually break skin. I think it was just scary for us kids more than anything.

This last memory, and possibly a comment from my dad saying that they are mean lead me to not be very fond of these geese. However, I always thought they were very attractive. And now as I learn a bit about them, I am incredibly impressed with how protective they are of their young, how they mate for life, and how their family is very important to them : )

p.s. Happy 4th of July to blippers in the US and expats living abroad!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.