Dérive

By oneD

Swooosh.....

........is the sound I hear when Victory is in my sights.

This is my attempt to convey the evanescence of that fleeting and intoxicating moment at the point of triumph - one of a series of drawings with cycling as a theme. Here, Nike, Goddess of Speed, Strength and Victory alights onto a rider as s/he travels through Yorkshire in the Tour de France!

The 'Swoosh' motif of the Nike sportswear company was inspired by the shape of the wing and body of the Nike of Samothrace as she comes to rest on the prow of a ship about to utter the cry of 'Victory'.



----------------------------------------------



Cycling and climbing are my favourite sports but I'm not able to do either at present due to my attempts to recover from a serious spinal injury incurred while parachuting. So Blip is really a life-saver!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.