home from home

Cousin Michael's cottage, which has been my wee escape this week.

A typical Findhorn cottage, originally for fishermen's families. Salmon fishing was still done commercially when I was growing up.

No phone, no mobile signal and no wifi. When was the last time I spent a week without those?

I can get wifi at the Bakehouse, but it only opens 10-4. I get a mobile signal on the shore, between the piers.

Mixed weather today. OK in the morning, but a wet afternoon and evening. After breakfast I set off to walk along the coast to Burghead and back - 14 mile round trip. I had to turn back about 30 minutes from Burghead as my Achilles tendon was hurting.

Just as well. The rain appeared as I was about 15 minutes from the cottage, and I got soaked. Any more time out in that would have been a bit nasty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.