Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Blip

By alfthomas

Because I Can't be Arsed...

...to go and look for anything.

Rant - the back story:-

Well it's like this, my mobile was playing silly buggers, and as an upgrade was due we decided to go for it, SWMBO is really good at this sort of thing and sorted it in no time at all. Next thing is I get a txt saying the new phone will be delivered on Tues 1st Jul, and offering the option to change it. Now, knowing that neither of us would be available on Tues or Weds (madam in Istanbul, me on Colonsay) I changed the delivery tu Thurs 3rd Jul, and get a txt confirming that - still with me?

Midday Tues I get a txt telling me that there was a problem, call a number. Now I am no way going to call a premium rate No. from my mobile (I'm not that stupid) so decide it can wait till I get back on Wed. We checked the tracking number given and saw that the delivery was scheduled for Thurs 3rd Jul and decided to wait - it didn't arrive. Now I could have nothing to do with this as it was all in SWMBO's name and, as I later discovered, they wouldn't talk to me anyway.

There's a promise that I would get a txt the next (Fri) morning confirming the time of delivery - yeah, pigs might fly first! Needless to say it didn't happen, checked the tracking page, it hadn't changed in over 24 hours, basically telling me that the delivery was still scheduled, but now for yesterday - nice one if you can pull it off. Numerous emails, tweets etc. later, none of which were responded to, and no joy from phoning them, they refused to talk to me, I am still none the wiser where the replacement phone is.

Now comes the crunch. At about 1pm yesterday there's a knock on the door, I go all prepared to give the driver a right royal earful. It's our neighbour across the hall with my replacement phone in her hand. Apparently it had been delivered on Wed (despite me rearranging it for Thurs) as nobody was here the moronic delivery man left it with her, but didn't think to provide us with this information. She only brought it across yesterday as she was not around on Thurs.

So, the story does have a happy(ish) ending after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.