Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

cutting the tree......

In my garden there is a really big avocado tree which provides me with beautiful creamy avocados all year round. However, its getting too big and during a recent storm part of the larger branches decided to break off. So we decided to cut it down (this has been done before and it comes back bigger and better!!).

Today was the day so the guy came to do the job with nothing but a panga knife!! He climbed the tree without any problem and cut off the top branches first - I couldn't watch....no rope, no safely hat, no nothing!!

Anyway, in a couple of hours the tree is now branchless and the mess has all been cleared up and the tree man has gone home happy with some money in his pocket. I also collected about 20 bags of avocados so there will be some happy people tonight!

This picture does not give an indication of the height of the tree but I have so much respect for this man.....words fail me!! That is his panga knife sitting on the branch next to his foot!!

Have a wonderful weekend - I now have sunlight in my back garden and can see the two lemon trees which were underneath the avocado tree!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.