River Chelmer, Springfield Rd, Chelmsford, Essex

An exciting day for me!  I drove (using Dad's car) into Chelmsford town centre and spent a useful three hours there. Purchases included a new cell phone to use in the UK (Galaxy S3 mini) as I will be here for a while and can't stand my old phone that I use here...and some cheap summer clothes because it is so much warmer than I expected, oh and a new camera bag. Marvellous.  

Home, then Asda supermarket and then once back home again, as I was sitting in the parked car on the drive trying to figure out how to turn off the windscreen wipers .... my bro and his wife parked next to me and asked if I would look after the children this evening so that they could go out for dinner - a very rare opportunity for them - so as I write this there are three kids running around in the garden. Meanwhile, I am testing yet another ale*.

Didn't see Dad today because I know he had a constant stream of other visitors. ...just realised (from one year ago's photo) that today would have been Mum and Dad's 62nd wedding anniversary....

Not sure if I wasted my money on the summer clothes as there was no sign of sunshine - just a half hearted attempt at a shower and generally around 17ºC. A complete turnabout from the last few days.  


Ale in England  #5: Ghost Ship  (brewed by Adnams in Suffolk)

"Ghost Ship is inspired by one of Adnams’ most haunted pubs in one of the UK’s most haunted villages, the Bell at Walberswick. The shores of Walberswick are littered with eerie wrecks of smuggling ships from a bygone era" (adnams.co.uk).  I really like this one - though perhaps Doom Bar is still the current personal favourite ....  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.