Le Tour - Ilkley

....i need a sleep

A Grand Day out for the Le Grand Depart, for us and for many this was a beautiful day.
I was up earlyish as I was on duty stewarding the Grandstand. Overnight it had been raining but was drying up as folks started gathering, and the sun came out with the first car of the advance caravan, and kept on shinning til dusk.

After watching the lads whizz past on their bikes, we moved down to the park where about 4 thousand of us watched the big screen as the tour progressed through "our Yorkshire" through the Dales such drama in the landscape and in the field of competition. Yorkshire put a great show and had a massive party.

In Ilkley the atmosphere was so happy, friendly and well, joyous.

There's so much more I could write, and a few more photos I could post, but, well, I need to sleep...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.