But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Which Way Are You Voting?

I left Mrs TD to get on with her quilting today and cycled to Gardentown in Banffshire for coffee and a scone, a round trip of just over 60 miles. For the second day running, refreshments were supplied by a craft shop and cafe; the scone was soggy because they'd taken it out of the freezer especially for me, and then defrosted it in a micro-wave, while the coffee had a strange tang to it, probably chicory. See yesterday's comments about the serving of food. The interesting thing was that the backroom of the cafe was full of sewing machines - I wonder if they run quilting workshops there; I'd better not tell herself about it. There is a 530 foot drop in a mile and a quarter down into the pretty little village and, of course, the reverse coming back out of it (much of it has a gradient of 10%); the villagers were betting that I wouldn't be able to ride up having just consumed the scone and coffee, did they know something about the catering that I didn't? Anyway, no-one followed me up to check.

I came across Yogi Bear just before the stop, he's obviously a "No" man but I was amused by the wind turbines, symbols of Scottish power, in the back-ground. I had thought about photoshopping a saltire into the picture but decided that the tacky plastic union flag, that stands out straight without any help from the wind, says something profound about the owner of the bear.

Shortly after arriving back at the B&B there was a torrential downpour, followed by a wonderful double rainbow; then, a few hours later on, I was enthralled to see the resident wild cat hybrid followed by the resident badger cub arriving for the food left out each night for them. They were impossible to photograph through the closed French window, I'll try with the door open another night and hope they don't get scared off; there's a good chance with the badger, I'm not so sure about the cat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.