Anatole's blips

By anatolebeams

Daddy's old ticker.

This one is still ticking, which I think is pretty good for a 60yr old watch. Automatic movement with pointer style date indicator.

He gave it to me when I was about 10 after wearying himself for more many years. I loved it as it showed the date and the day and glowed in the dark. Of course, I found out about the luminous paint years later in when we discovered that it was a stronger beta source than the one we had kept safely in a lead lined box in the Physcis lab. I still wore it for a few more years before succumbing to the attraction of a spanking new Casio digital watch. The Casio is long gone and has been replaced my several others, but the Roamer keeps going strong inside my bedside drawer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.