Start them young

Young Mary Poppins stayed home from first grade today to deal with a hacking cough and a slight fever. I watched her for an hour in the morning so her mom could attend a meeting. When I got to their front porch, I lightly tapped on the door so as to not awaken the patient who could have been at death's door for all I knew.

Thundering herd of elephants! She came charging to the door, threw it open and dramatically exclaimed that I had arrived JUST in time as she was about to pop in her favorite movie. Glad my timing was so good.

She had a hacking cough allright and much as I tried to keep my distance, she was all over me, playing with my hair, doing pretend make-up. We also played with my point and shoot which I always carry with. I told her I needed a picture for the day for my photo journal...a picture to remind me of the day. Of course, what better reminder than a picture of her fish and even better that she took it. She noted that we should turn the flash off as the fish did not like it.

Good work little one, you're going to be great photographer one day. I hope I don't catch whatever you have. Cough...cough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.