In the Forest, By the Waters

We had a run of terrific, cool weather over the July 4th holiday weekend. We awoke on Saturday morning and it was lovely and chilly out, so we went for an early-morning bike/hike in our local gamelands, the Scotia Barrens. By the the time we returned home, it was sunny and warm. A delightful day all around.

This is a view of one of our favorite ponds in the gamelands. I frequently see salamanders in these ponds, occasionally toads and frogs, and we once even saw a beaver hard at work, dragging a huge log down into the water. In summertime, the waters of the gamelands ponds are host to a myriad of dragonflies, and even on this cool morning, we saw quite a few. They helicoptered around, enjoying - as did we - a peaceful, perfect summer morning in the forest, by the waters.

The song to accompany this idyllic scene is Van Morrison's In the Forest.

Editor's note: I took my original little digital camera, the Canon SX 120 IS, along on this morning's bike/hike. The camera I usually use is the Canon SX 50 HS but the smaller camera was easier to tote along in my fanny pack, especially for the biking portion of our adventure. I don't usually use the little camera anymore, but on this day I thought it did a yeoman's job!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.