Allez Allez Allez!

Wow, what a day it has been. I stayed over at my Aunties in Ripon, so we walked down to the fan zone in the Market Place to watch the grand depart of the first stage of the Tour de France from Leeds. The whole city had put on a good display with most shop windows have Le Tour decorations and everywhere there was bunting in the form of yellow, green, white , and red polka dot jerseys. The crowd gradually grew throughout the day, and the scenes of the crowds on the route were unbelievable, especially on the climbs such as Cote De Cray and Cote De Buttertubs.

It was great to see what an event Yorkshire could host, and the support was brilliant, we have certainly embraced it wholeheartedly, and showed the world what a great place Yorkshire is.

In the afternoon Jane and I headed out to the bypass to watch the race live. The bypass was pretty well lined with people, but we manged to find a spot. This is the view of the peleton heading at full pelt along the bypass towards me. They were the full width of the road and as they got closer I retreated to the grass verge, but I was surprised at how close to the gutter some of the riders were and I had to pull back even more.

Now another early start for tomorrows stage departure in York

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.