Dollar Summer School-hidden art gem

I am having a week at Dollar Sumer school only this year I am doing printmaking.

Now most people have done lino cuts in school but I never did so it was all a bit of a revelation.
This is my first attempt based on an earlier blip pic of Taz.

I realised, too late, that the image I had chosen was not only big but complicated. Hence most of the time today has been spent gouging out. And yes there is a mistake in the lettering….

Dollar Summer School is a hidden gem among holiday art courses offering excellent tuition- all the tutors are art teachers, and the facilities are in a purpose built arts centre at Dollar Academy, built by a grateful ex-pupil. And its a fraction of the cost of similar courses.

Now in its 55th year it has seen numbers dwindle in recent years due to lack of advertising, something it has never had to in the past because it relied on repeat custom and word of mouth.

In fact this year only three out of the 60 of us attending are new.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.