weewilkie

By weewilkie

breaking up Bouverie

Bouverie is an iconic street in my hometown. Like a little squeeze of tenement life icing-piped across a ridge that overlooks the town. And it is being destroyed. What the Luftwaffe couldn't do the town planners are.

I do so love tenements. They are beautiful and sturdy and life up a close has lots to recommend it. More often than not they are destroyed for some bob-a-job accommodation that lasts barely a generation. So, it's sad to see it go.

Still, life is ever changing. In my experience, unhappiness comes from thinking that life will always be the same. You end up grasping for something that isn't actually the same, isn't real and the space between your illusion and reality is often where unhappiness resides.

Anyway, I'm off to Devon to see friends tomorrow. Then I'm back and off to Spain with the kids to see my sister and family. A nice change.

Onwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.