The Far Corner

By btocher

Elvis

Way back in time, my ambition was always to work in a record shop, and after I left college I did so, for five years. I loved music, and I still do. It's a very important part of my life.

Occasionally we'd get visits from record company reps promoting new singles and LPs. They'd often give us promotional records, but occasionally they'd give us something a little different. This signed lithograph is one of the latter. It's signed by both Elvis Costello himself, and the artist, although unfortunately I can't make out the artist's name. It's number 364 of 750, and was made in 1980. I can't remember now, but I'm guessing it was to promote the Get Happy!! album, which amazingly had ten tracks on each side. This was unheard of for vinyl in these days.

It's not as flat as it could be, as it lay forgotten, rolled up in a cardboard tube for many years. (I know, I know!)

It's now framed, and on the wall in the front room, above the (many!) CD shelves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.