Languedoc Daily

By BrodieB

Spaghetti puttanesca

I know this doesn't look any too appetising but, truth is, I forgot to take a photo til after we'd finished. Duh!

Anyway, this dish is also known as slag's spaghetti because it was, traditionally, the quick and easy pasta eaten by the ladies of the night when they got home. My recipe given to me by my old friend Kezia, involves garlic, chilli and a lot of fresh tomatoes, the more home-grown the better. It's incredibly simple and really delicious. Nigella has a more complicated version involving anchovies, olives and capers which, memorably, she suggests you serve while sucking on an unfiltered fag clamped between your teeth. Nice touch!

The reason we are eating this cheep and cheerful supper tonight is because we're lavishing the pricey poultry on our lovely, patient Flynn. God knows he deserves it after enduring an excruciating visit to the vet this afternoon. (I would have been screeching for a general.) Good news is the vet doesn't think he'll need to do an emergency operation and the Flynnster is decidedly more perky. Bad news is we still don't know what's caused it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.