Long Slow Distance

By platanos

Windmill

I shot the Ashcombe windmill this morning when the sky was barely light, while out on a run. It is located near Kingston, just outside Lewes in East Sussex. The mill is a brand new structure built in traditional form, but on a steel frame. The original mill that occupied the site was destroyed in 1916, and the new one has been modelled after archive photographs. It will be unusual in that it will have six sweeps.

I fiddled around with my photograph to convert it to black and white and make it appear older, as I thought suited the subject.

I am monitoring the development on my regular run so that I may photograph the installation of the sweeps. You can find out more about the mill at http://www.sussexmillsgroup.org.uk/ashcombe.htm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.