New Toys: Konichiwa

Danny Elfman - Batman Theme (1989)

Today I opened a new toy, "Hello". I was deliberating this purchase for a long time because I wanted to expand my reading. Sadly there aren't too many bookstores selling foreign books, especially comics. I've been a comic book fan for a very long time thanks to my Dad. He introduced me to Spiderman, Wolverine, and other such awesome characters before I hit my teens and we would venture to the comic book store every weekend to catch the latest comic books. I was into the Dark Horse Comics movie adaptations of The Predator and Aliens. I love that stuff.

Above all comic book characters, Batman is the greatest. I'm not the best of fans, but I LOVED the animated series, the Christopher Nolan trilogy, The Dark Knight comic book series, the Tim Burton movies (despite hating Tim Burton), the Arkham Asylum video games, and most importantly, Alan Moore's The Killing Joke and the Frank Miller comics of Batman: Year One and The Dark Knight Returns. Spellbinding stuff for me.

The first thing I downloaded from DC comics was the DC New 52's Night Of The Owls collection. Very interesting story involving the Batman Universe of Robin, Nightwing, Batgirl, etc. against the Court Of The Owls. I haven't read it yet but I'm excited to see what's new in the universe. Jonah Hex is in the series for goodness sakes!!!

Also I signed into iBooks and when I'm done with Batman I'm on to Alain De Botton's The Art of Travel. Yes, I've given in to the "Now" generation of instant gratification, it's of no surprise that I've already downloaded the Facebook App for the iPad, but I suppose my main purpose is to enjoy books and comics more thoroughly in my present condition and location. I could have got a Kindle which is a wonderful piece of technology, but I must have comic books in my life. I can't wait to download Vertigo Comics as well as finally reading Civil War from Marvel. I love Captain America since the cinematic iterations so any recommendations on the best Captain America comics would be much appreciated. I never read any of Cap's comics since growing up, it was like Superman for me, an invincible sort of icon that seriously has no troubles but a great vehicle to analyse the state of politics. Superman perhaps would be the "Jesus Christ" character that questions the concept of an all powerful being to better the human race. Superman: World Peace was awesome. Anyway, a new world awaits. WOO HOO!

I bought the cheapest variant of the iPad so my next step is to get Wi-Fi for my apartment instead of going to pubs or cafes to get internet access. :-P

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.