Ben

My youngest son became an adult today - I just can't believe it's eighteen years since he arrived after a wonderful home birth which involved walking round the garden on a summer morning, lots of toast and relaxing reflexology by my midwife.

His teenage years have had their ups and downs, with periods of severe anxiety and depression, but over the last six months or so he has learned to manage so much better. He's also lost weight and I think he's turning into a rather handsome young man - though I'm probably biased!! I just hope he now has the confidence and maturity to enjoy his last two years of being a teenager...

We had a fairly low key sort of day, but in the evening went to a pan-Asian restaurant that he'd selected. It's located on the River Nene on an old Dutch barge. After a drink in the downstairs bar, we went to the upper deck and enjoyed one of the best meals I've ever had - everything perfectly cooked and lots of interesting dishes that you don't get in normal Chinese and Thai restaurants. After the meal we went back down to the bar where there was live music, At the end of the evening the musicians did a short comedy set very reminiscent of the Flight of the Conchords - hilarious and an excellent way to finish the night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.