davidkerrsmith

By DavidKerrSmith

Trying Something New

Tonight I tried my hand at a little indoor sports photography.

My nephew plays rollerhoc with the Falkirk Wheelers. He has mentioned about going along to shoot a practice session, but they are on the same night as my college so I had to wait until that was finished.

I had a lot of fun and got a lot of useful experience regarding shooting indoors. I was using the default 18-55mm lens that came with the D3200. The lighting inside the venue was just horrible. A sickly green tint to everything.

I experimented with the different ISO settings. Flash on and off and getting a suitable shutter speed to capture the action.

I get another 6 weeks off from college so I'll get more chances to work on how to improve, but I think I need a lens with a larger aperture.

I thought I'd share my favourite shot from the day. Not as crisp as I'd like, but very useful experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.