Life Uncommon

By lifeuncommon

Moment

It was an odd, sort of disjointed day. A's school began two hours delayed, as it does once per month, and though the slightly slower morning pace is a good thing, it does kind of throw us out of our groove. I went to the gym before work but forgot my shoes, and had to backtrack home, leaving me with not enough time to workout before I had to get to work. Then I worked, picked up the kids from school, and hurried home. I had to go back to work for an evening training, as I do a few times per year, so I stayed in my work attire rather than changing to jeans. It felt strange to be handling the whole after-school-snack/homework/free time routine in my slacks and sweater, and I kept glancing at the clock, trying to gauge how much time I had before I needed to heat up dinner and drive back to work. That time came, and I went to pull the leftover ravioli out of the fridge to reheat - and found that Ben had taken the leftovers to work for lunch. Sigh. That's just the kind of day it was, folks. Not bad, but kind of . . . off.

But there was this moment. This one very peaceful, fun, artistic moment when I pulled out some paints and stamps and paper, and watched the kids create. I thought about how thankful I was, to have this moment amidst a bit of a crazy day. And then I reached for my camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.