Scribbler

By scribbler

Potter/author/artist/twin

Renee at Laura Russo Gallery with an armful of art brochures. (SOOC)

Renee and I have known each other almost thirty years. We hadn't seen each other since she moved to Hawaii in 2005. She is one of the few artists I know who've managed to earn a living from their art. After a long hiatus she is starting to work with clay again, cunning little pinch pots incised with mark-making, unglazed. (She showed me photos on her iPhone.)

We met for lunch, looked at pottery in two galleries, and finished with iced tea.

Renee and her identical twin sister have written a memoir and are currently trying to get it published. It's so hard to get a publisher, or even an agent. We discussed the pros and cons of self-publishing, which is my plan. Renee wouldn't mind traveling around the country giving readings in bookstores — to me that sounds like Purgatory.

-----------------------

Great reunion, but needless to say I didn't get any work done on my novel today. I am sick of my novel. I am sick of talking about my novel. I think I am going to stop talking about my novel until I actually have something to say. Please be patient with me.

-----------------------

As Giacomo said recently, "I am sorry I have been awful at visiting journals but thank you for your visits here."

I haven't said this in a while, but I'm really touched by your continued visits when I've been so negligent in returning them. It's not that I don't want to! Whenever I try to play catchup I get engrossed for hours. It's like (appropriate to today) visiting old friends you haven't seen in ages. Then I have to wrench myself away again. Boo hoo. And back to the ....

Blessings on your days, and blessings on your blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.