Wigumoto

By Wigumoto

The Reader

I was heading into town after shooting this curious fellow in the park and I spotted this woman sat at the base of a statue, reading a book and smoking a cigarette. Her hair was probably the first thing that caught my eye, that and the fact that I've never seen anyone sat there reading before. I 'um'ed and ah'ed' about taking a shot and I'm glad I decided to, despite the dodgy looks I got.

Street photography in London is easy because no one takes any notice of the guy with the camera, in somewhere like Grays it feels awkward because no one does it and therefore no one's used to it. Still, I'm happy with the shot, despite going back and forth on cropping, black and white, colour, selective colour. Black and white looks great, but then you don't get that hair! So I settled on muted colours all around apart from the hair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.