Lavender Fields

Not the best of days for a meetup. One look at the weather forecast and many who would have come decided it was a no go at the last minute. Wimbledon Finals possibly contributed to the high drop out rate but ByTheWay joined myself, Linda and Jonathan at Selbourne.

A sharp shower caught us as we arrived but, if not sunny, we had a warm, dry walk around Glibert White's Garden and visited the house. The garden is my type of garden. Full of secret areas, purposefully overgrown and delightful.

There's nothing like a comfy inn and good company. We had a bite to eat at the Selbourne Arms before heading off towards the Lavender Fields nearby. Another heavy shower greeted us as we parked up! Needless to say it was only a shower and soon we were on our knees taking all the shots possible.

The lady on the phone had sold me their Lavender Fields. I was somewhat disappointed when we got there. It isn't extensive as Mayfields and not the photographic promise I believed but, they have sown the most stunning areas of wild flowers which made the trip worthwhile.

It was still dark when I took this photo... on my new toy. I've upgraded my phone to a Nokia Lumia 1020... worth it? It will take me a couple of months to get used to the camera settings and I don't like the over yellow of greens. Modified in Photoshop again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.