My Eyes So Cloudy I can't See......

For your delectation this evening, I added a few hills and an extra mile and a bit to my cycle home so that you could get a sense of the building works.

The little road, was the track to the farm. It continued for perhaps another 800 yards to where the farm building stood; the fields continued on for another field length after.

Up until a few months ago. there were two cottages sat on the spot I have taken the shot from. They were derelict for a couple of years, and I always insisted that I would go and dig up the daffodil bulb before anyone else did! Think I've missed my chance.

The cycle home was amazing. I cycled as normal until I reached the Mountain of Death. I have not successful traversed said Mountain yet, but get within perhaps 4 pedals, and then I dismount, heaving and gasping for air, and walk the last three or four metres. I then free wheeled down the hill, but this time, instead of the hairpin bend at the bottom, I continued straight, on what has become known as the Smugglers' Trail.

I thought the path along side Lochgreen hotel was about 50 yards. No it was about 800 yards, and pot holed and muddy (Despite the heat). I eventually got out the other end and had to do a dash of death across the singularly worse road in town, and bang Bella Bella up on the pavement. Despite it being a "named path" there is no apparent join between one path and the other,hence the Dash of Death

My route then took a bit of a climb upwards to "Monkton Hill" - the name should have given it away to me. It's a single track road which runs amidst two fields currently bursting at the seams with grains, and then leads to rather exclusive houses on one side, and the rugby club on the other.

One kind driver heading towards me, ever so kindly moved into the passing place, to allow my arse to pass safely. However, this meant, than instead of my 2 miles an hour pace, I had to increase to at least 7 on a hill, to get past him any time before sunset. Then there was another hill. And another.

the total climb from starting out to the highest point was 95ft. (Not all at once).

The last part of my ride home, took me two miles along the road which skirts the landward side of town. Some fields,and houses to one side - backed on to the sea, and fields, and hills to the other side. I'm very, very lucky to live where I live.

Now, I am completely spent. I have slept for 20 minutes on a lounger in the garden, and only came in because I needed the loo. Bed will not be far off tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.