Blue Sky and Sunshine

It's not a great photo, but I'm posting it because a security guard at EICC tried to stop me taking it. I'm stubborn like that.

The guard came over and asked me what I was doing, so I explained about my daily photo journal and showed him my pictures. Then he told me "You can't take pictures of a conference centre - it's for security". We debated this a little, and he wouldn't change his viewpoint but he didn't seem to inclined to actually do anything about it (I had my phone ready to record video just in case), so I kept going until I got the photo I wanted.

I spoke to the Security Manager at EICC later on, who confirmed that they have no such general policy, and that even if they wanted to there is nothing they could do to enforce it our on the street. He said the confusion probably arose because most exhibitors don't allow photography inside, and some events with heightened security (mostly political/governmental) have
security sensitivities. He's going to have a word with the front-of-house team to make sure they understand the policy.

I'm a photographer not a terrorist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.