Klaus Nomi

I enjoyed drawing Nina Hagen so much yesterday that I decided to draw another of the music artists I mentioned who gave me that WOW! moment. As I said, I borrowed a DVD of Urgh! A Music War from a friend. Most of the artists were a bit meh to be honest. Numan was on there but it was concert footage from The Touring Principle which I had seen many times so not so stunning. But then Klaus Nomi came on and blew me away! That voice! That look! Just incredible. Now I've just found this high quality remastered footage of that performance of Klaus Nomi singing Total Eclipse and it is better than ever.

This performance of The Cold Song by Henry Purcell stunned me again when I saw it later. Knowing that Nomi was dying of AIDS gives this video an almost unbearable emotional intensity. So, if you need cheering up, please enjoy Ding Dong (The Witch Is Dead) and remember that Klaus didn't really die, he just returned to his home planet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.