Take It Easy

That advice is not something that resonates with me, as there are always many things I want to do, as well as those pesky "shoulds," but I'm trying, particularly after my recent string of aches, pains, and hives.

Here's my testimony: I had some errands to do in Fairhaven this afternoon, and tried to remember "Take it easy."

-- The library parking lot was full when I arrived there. Normally, I would have tried again after my other errands were done, but today, I said "There's always tomorrow."

-- I went to the mid-week farmers' market on the Village Green, behind Village Books. Normally, I would have gone around to all the vendors and had a chat and taken photos, but today, I went to only one vendor, bought the vegetables and fresh raspberries I'd been craving, and said, "There's always the big market on Saturday."

-- On my way home, I stopped at Lake Padden Park, hoping for a blip. The area around the swimming beach was full of folks of all ages and sizes, enjoying the sunshine and the water, but after a 10-minute bimble in their midst, I knew that the photos I'd been taking would not be what I wanted. "I don't need to blip every day," I told myself.

When it cooled down this evening, I went into the back yard and took a handful of photos. These tiny, glowing flowers of a weed -- or maybe it's a "real" plant that's wandered -- caught my eye in the fading light.

A gift, for taking it easy.

Blip 977

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.