Searching....

I think baby Magpie is still searching for a new territory to live in. Either that, or he doesn't want to leave the one he was born in late last year, but daren't come too close to the houses in the street as they are already taken....by his father.....who lets him know in no uncertain terms that he isn't welcome here any more.

Poor baby. He seems to live right down the back of my yard now and he often sings from the high branches of the pecan nut tree. Whenever I hear him I take some meat down the back to him and he flies down and takes the food from my hand, just as he always has.

The pecan nuts are just about all dropped to the ground now, but if you look carefully, you will see a few that are still hanging on.

We are in for another cold night here. A couple of nights ago it went down to two degrees and last night it was six....I feel a lot more confident complaining about the cold when the temperature drops to single digits!

"Be like the bird who, pausing in her flight awhile on boughs too slight, feels them give way beneath her, and yet sings, knowing she hath wings." ~ Victor Hugo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.