AlfeeTee

By AlfeeTee

Blink and...you couldn't see it anyway.

At the risk of setting myself up for a beating I have to say that road cycling is a pretty rubbish spectator sport. There I've said it.
To set things straight I'm a very keen cyclist and love being at criteriums, track and cyclocross races, and I've been watching road races from the side of the road for forty years. But I've always had this nagging doubt about it that I pushed away as sacreligious. The Tour is fantastic to watch on telly (highlights or live) but to stand for sometimes hours to get a fleeting glance of riders going so fast you can't tell who they are seems pointless.
I'm amazed at the continual fervour of the millions of people who lined the roads in Yorkshire and London. It is a great atmosphere, and its given a massive boost to cycling's profile but surely there should be more to the experience than tat being chucked at you from lorries and cheering and mexican waving; and not seeing anything.
I'll stay glued to the tv coverage so I know whats going on and await the flack.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.