An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Storm Clears...

Sunday 6th July

Whilst any sensible person would have been watching either the Wimbledon Men's Final, or the British Grand Prix, or the Tour de Dales (I mean, France, cum Yorkshire) I was out on Cranborne Chase, dodging showers.

And pretty damn heavy ones at that. Get closer to the storm in LARGE

I had bolted all the way down the steep hill, across fields of lazy cows and through to the main Portsmouth to Bristol railway line, to shelter under an arch. It was COLD and I had NO coat! Wondering whether it would ever clear and if it did, whether I'd be able to get back for the last bus (Sunday, don't forget)....

I then bolted back up the hill, but on a different steep path, the wild flowers and grasses heavy with rain, all wrapping about my ankles. I made it in time for the sun to re-appear... here is that storm departing...

No HDR or grad grey filters, though a polariser on the Nikkor 10-24mm certainly helped bring out those menacing clouds.

I had been photographing the Big Lunch charity event in Wilton - the other commitment I said I had - and as I was doing that for expenses only, I was let off an hour earlier than the scheduled end. So I had bombed off up through Grovely wood and up on the escarpments looking north.

One photo I took at the Big Lunch was sent to Salisbury Journal and with high chance of publication - mine from previous year was. That could have been my Blip but that was staged - and with people in it - and after yesterday's dodgy effort, (thanks to ALL who commented on that) I think I'll be sticking with good old landscapes for quite a while now!

BTW - last year's Wilton Carnival Blip is in the one year ago thumbnail, below.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.