Windows in Time

By ColourWeaver

Solent Forts

Today I left Quarr Abbey, taking the last few looks over the shoulder at the retreating Benedictine Monastery, which had been my home for the last three weeks. I may not have visited many places while I was here, but it had truly been a relaxing place to find God speaking into the situation. I have been very fortunate to have met so many people, with whom I would like to stay in contact with, if only to to be able to continue the conversations we have had and also to develop them still further. They have come from all walks of life, for which I will not mention here on such a public medium: for they too deserve their privacy.

Taking Brother Robert’s thoughts about how easy it is to keep on looking back I thought it was now time to look forward to the future and what God might be asking me to do next in my ministry to some of His people that have been in my care for the last ten years. I was asked many years ago if I thought it was high time I left... My answer then was, that it was not up to me, or the people, but up to God, and I’d not heard God say to me, hey-up-lad it is time to go, because you’ve done all you can here, (my answer then, still stands). However, while I have been on sabbatical I have heard God calling me, the question can I and the church respond in unison.

I now look forward today to going to Worthing to see my younger older brother and his son who has just moved from his flat to another place. If there is a need to be with them again later in the week then this is fine. I understand that for some people my sabbatical is disappearing too fast, well it is not disappearing too fast for me, but real slowly, in a peaceful, reflective, artistic, photographic way...

><>

In the blip for today you see is Spitbank Fort one of four Solent forts that were built for the protection of Portsmouth and it's harbour from sea attack and bombardment. At the same time, land forts in Gosport and Portsdown were also built to counteract any other land or sea attack. Another fort, on Ryde Sand, was abandoned after construction had started due to unstable foundations. The government set up a Royal Commission into the issues and their conclusions were that a ring of new detached sea forts should be constructed. However, two of the forts, including Spitbank were struck from the plans but under pressure, they were re-instated two years later.

The forts were designed by Captain E H Steward, who was part of the staff of the Assistant Inspector General of Fortifications, Colonel W F D Jervois. Spitbank Fort was completed in June 1878, and St Helen's shortly after. The two outer forts, Horse Sand and No Mans Land, although started earlier, were completed in the spring of 1880.

The cost of building the forts was: (totals exclude armaments)
Horse Sand Fort - £424,694
No Mans Land Fort - £462,500
Spitbank Fort - £167,300
St Helen's Fort - £123, 311

By the time the forts had been completed, the "invasion" scare from France had long since passed and although the forts were armed and re-armed as technology advanced, they were never needed in the capacity in which they had been planned for. After suffering years of neglect, there was not a great role for the forts during the Second World War either.

The forts were de-activated after the war and used for coastal artillery until 1956. Spitbank Fort was bought by a private buyer in 1982, restored and opened to the public. No Mans Land Fort was bought by a property company with plans to convert it to a luxury home, complete with private heli-pad. It is believed that St Helen's Fort was sold, but no information on the purpose or by whom is available. Horse Sand Fort was taken off the market and retained by the Ministry of Defence.

><>

They have stood the test of time. Witness a few wars and a very busy shipping channel. Notwithstanding all this hustle and bustle, time for them is slow. It is not reparative, but reflective in the waters around them. They stand like sentinels waiting patiently for God to speak. The world might be tearing itself apart to measure up to the expected norm, but these buildings are waiting silently, expectantly, for the coming dawn. In many ways I have done a lot of rushing around in ministry, in fact for all of me job/careers, clock watching and measuring up to a business case has not been good for the soul.

I have looked at many people in and out of church life. For the last ten years of their lives they looked tired, hacked, always striving to do more and more in less and less time. The business model has to be obeyed, we have to conform to the proposed structures of what is expected of us. Well, I think it is a very dangerous thought to think that the church and ministry and being a church ministry should be moulded into value-for-money, work-yourself-into-the-ground, be-stressed-and-lump-it, this is not what Jesus did, so why are we/why am I allowing myself to be mould thus?

It is my observation that when people retire they become younger, instead of looking old before their time. Retirement, or giving up some part of your work means that your life is returned to you. God give you/me a chance to relax, be more reflective, and generally gives you time to be yourself/myself. Being yourself, means that you/me can pursue the things that make you/me tick. For me being able to tick in time with my spiritual self means being able to write, reflect, do some art, and take photographs. Now that truly is God talking, because I have allowed myself to wait patiently for God to speak and I have waited patiently for the coming dawn.

Additional information regarding the reasons for building the Solent Forts is taken from http://www.royalnavalmuseum.org/info_sheets_solentforts.htm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.