Windows in Time

By ColourWeaver

Oxford Motorway Services, M40

Often with motorway services they are built to be functional, but forget to to be pleasing to the eye. I appreciate that not everyone can spend time drinking in the these super highway oasis’, but when I stopped off at these services I could not help think that the designer had thought about the needs of others. Clearly the architect realised that there needed to be not just an open space where people could enjoy their hot drinks and a danish, before heading off into the madness and sometimes chaotic driving skills of others.

We often forget that the driver needs to focus on something else. To have their senses tuned into something different, rather than the drone of the rubber on tarmac, or worst the steady unrelenting rhythmic thud of rubber traveling at speed on concrete sections of our motorway system. My younger older brother often saids that he driver in a boring manner and his more than happy for his passengers to fall asleep in the car. This happens to me too! However, I do feel that as a driver, whether or not I have passengers or not the rhythmic sounds from the road surfaces that we travel on affect far too many drivers.

There is often a sign that says, “Tiredness can kill. Take a break.” How often do we heed that warning, or do we think that the sign has been put up for someone else? It could be said that this is also the case when we see speed limits, the use of mobile-phones, or anything else... So many people think it does not apply to them and when I/we are tired and forgetting to take a break, I/we ignore the signs too.

Jesus said, “Come to me, all you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and i will give you rest.”

The next time you see a sign that says, “Tiredness kills. Take a break.” Remember you probable are tired and you need a break!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.